Quick answer: Marg ERP is GST billing, inventory and accounting software that Marg says is built for Indian retailers, distributors, pharma and FMCG businesses. It helps a small business grow through batch and expiry control, credit-limit alerts at billing, e-invoicing and WhatsApp invoices and reminders. Marg lists edition prices from ₹5,550 plus 18% GST. It suits stock-heavy traders; service firms and single-counter shops are better served by Zoho Invoice or Vyapar.
What Marg says it is
Marg ERP Ltd. describes itself on its homepage as a business software provider for SMEs and MSMEs, specialising in pharma, FMCG, retail and distribution, with a history going back to 1992. The homepage gives these self-reported figures: 10 lakh+ satisfied users, 1 million+ businesses served worldwide, 850+ sales and support centres and 8,500+ sales and service professionals. Treat them as Marg's claims, read in October 2026.
Its product line is organised by job: billing, GST, accounting, inventory, pharmacy, POS, FMCG, and MargPay for payments and reconciliation. It also lists cloud options (Marg Cloud, and MargBooks, which it calls true cloud software) and mobile apps: eOrder for salesmen, eOwner for owners, eDelivery, eRetail and PharmaNXT.
Features that map to growth
Batch, expiry and dump-stock control. Marg says its software tracks batch-wise, near-expiry and dump stock, sets reorder points and alerts you to near-expiry items. For a medicine or FMCG trader, stock that expires unsold is a direct loss, so this is the headline benefit.
Live credit-limit management. The homepage lists credit limits that are tracked "with live notifications during billing". A distributor selling to dozens of retailers on credit can see an over-limit party before the invoice is saved.
GST, e-invoice and e-way bill. Marg lists GST returns, GSTR-2A and 2B reconciliation, e-invoicing without visiting the portal, QR code and IRN printed on the invoice, GSTIN validation, and single or bulk e-way bill generation with a JSON file, per its e-invoicing page.
WhatsApp invoices and payment reminders. Marg lists invoices sent on WhatsApp, and on its pharma page, invoices by WhatsApp or SMS with payment links and automatic reminders (it calls this Marg Wallet). It also lists MargPay, which it says auto-reconciles payments with the ERP.
Ordering without phone calls. Marg describes ERP-to-ERP ordering, where a retailer's order lands directly in the distributor's Marg system, and says its network connects 1.75 lakh+ chemists and 80,000+ distributors. The eOrder app is listed for salesmen taking orders in the field.
Less typing. Online Purchase Import loads supplier bills from PDF, Excel or CSV, and Marg lists barcode billing for counters.
What it costs
Marg's pricing page (checked October 2026) shows these India prices, each with 18% GST extra:
| Edition | Listed price | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Nano | ₹5,550 | Maximum 2 users and 2 companies; ₹3,000 per extra user or company |
| Basic (limited edition) | ₹10,300 | 1 user with full rights; ₹3,000 per extra user, maximum 2 users |
| Silver | ₹13,900 | 1 user full rights, 1 view-only user; ₹3,000 per extra user |
| Gold | ₹26,000 | Unlimited users |
The page does not state a billing period next to these figures, so ask whether each is a one-time or recurring charge and what renewal costs. It adds that final prices vary with requirements and implementation, that customisation is extra, and that Marg does not sell through online portals and gives no service or support for copies bought from them. Get any quote in writing from an authorised Marg centre.
Who it suits
| Business | Why it may fit |
|---|---|
| Pharma distributors and chemists | Batch and expiry, ERP-to-ERP ordering, PharmaNXT |
| FMCG distributors and wholesalers | Schemes, dispatch tracking, credit limits, salesman order app |
| Retail counters | Barcode billing, POS, My Shop QR code for products and offers |
| Multi-location traders | Marg lists multi-location billing and branch operations |
Marg's FMCG page lists near-expiry and slow-moving stock alerts, cashier management with cash drawer and weighing machine connections, dispatch tracking through billing, packing and delivery, and an ERP Bridger that imports or exports XLS, CSV and DBF.
A one-week setup plan
- Day 1: Book a demo at a local Marg centre. Bring five real invoices, ten items and three parties.
- Day 2: Clean your item list: names, HSN codes, units, batch and expiry practice.
- Day 3: Load parties with GSTIN, credit limits and opening balances.
- Day 4: Load opening stock after a physical count of your top lines.
- Day 5: Parallel-bill a day's invoices and compare totals and tax with your old method.
- Day 6: Train one biller and one back-office person. Set up WhatsApp invoice sending.
- Day 7: Go live for new documents, and check the first near-expiry and credit-limit alerts.
How the week changes after go-live
Counter and phone billing. Billers search by barcode, category, brand or shortcut, which Marg's FMCG page describes, and see credit status before saving a bill. Expect a few days of slower billing while shortcuts are learned.
Purchasing. Instead of typing each supplier bill, import it from PDF, Excel or CSV using the purchase-import feature Marg lists, then check quantities against the goods received. Compare a few imported bills with the originals before trusting the feature fully.
Stock review. Each week open the near-expiry and slow-moving lists Marg describes and decide what to push, discount or return to the supplier. This is where the "growth" shows up for a trader: money released from stock that would otherwise be written off.
Collections. Use the WhatsApp invoice and reminder features for routine follow-up, and phone the large or old accounts yourself.
Month-end. Reconcile purchases against GSTR-2A or 2B using Marg's listed reconciliation, then ask your CA to review before filing.
Demo tests to insist on
Ask the Marg centre to run these on your data: an invoice with a scheme or discount, a sales return of a batch item, a party that crosses its credit limit, an e-invoice with IRN and QR, and a restore from backup. If any step needs manual workarounds, ask what the edition you are buying includes.
How it compares
These details are from each vendor's site, checked October 2026.
| Marg ERP | Busy | GoFrugal | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Positioning | Retail, distribution, pharma, FMCG | 20+ sectors including retail, pharmacy and FMCG | Retail, restaurant, distribution |
| Listed prices | ₹5,550 to ₹26,000 plus GST, period not stated | ₹5,000, ₹8,000 and ₹12,000 per year (Start, Smart, Power) | Retail from ₹750 per month |
| E-invoice and e-way bill | Listed | Listed | Not detailed on the vendor's website |
| Users claimed | 10 lakh+ users | 6,00,000+ businesses | 30,000+ customers |
When another tool fits better
- Chains with franchisee stores: Ginesys POS lists store groups and franchisee management.
- Service invoicing: Zoho Books or Refrens.
- Accountant-led, Tally-first firms: TallyPrime.
- Free mobile start: Vyapar.
See also billing software, inventory software and our pharma distribution guide.
What to check before buying
- Is the listed price one-time or recurring, and what does renewal cost?
- Which edition includes the e-invoice, WhatsApp and mobile-app features you want?
- Is the Marg centre authorised, and who provides support?
- Can you take a backup yourself? Marg's pages mention cloud backup and restore.
- What does customisation cost?
FAQs
Is Marg ERP good for small businesses?
Marg says it is built for retailers, distributors, pharma and FMCG businesses and lists a Nano edition from ₹5,550 plus 18% GST. It fits stock-heavy traders best; a service business has lighter options.
How much does Marg ERP cost?
Per Marg's pricing page (checked October 2026): Nano ₹5,550, Basic ₹10,300, Silver ₹13,900 and Gold ₹26,000, each plus 18% GST. The page does not state a billing period, so confirm it in writing.
Does Marg ERP support e-invoicing?
Yes, Marg lists e-invoicing with IRN and QR printed on the invoice, plus e-way bills and GSTR-2A/2B reconciliation. Ask for a demo using one of your invoices.
What is the difference between Marg ERP and Tally?
Marg positions itself around pharma, FMCG, retail and distribution workflows; TallyPrime lists accounting, GST and inventory, from ₹750 per month on rental. Demo both with your own data.
Can Marg send WhatsApp invoices and reminders?
Marg lists invoices on WhatsApp and, on its pharma page, payment links with automatic reminders.
Next step: get a free matched shortlist, or compare more in billing software.







