Skip to content

Free, independent software advice for Indian businesses

App Advisor logoApp Advisor

How sumHR Helps Indian Companies Grow (2026)

How sumHR helps Indian companies grow: modules, ₹1,428 per employee pricing, a 30-day rollout and when Kredily or Zimyo is the better HRMS.

Updated 7 min read 1,407 words 3 sourcesBy App Advisor Research

Abstract branded cover with layered HR cards and a rising growth line
Abstract branded cover with layered HR cards and a rising growth line. Photo: App Advisor

Software covered in this blog

Quick answer: sumHR suits small and mid-sized Indian teams that want HRIS, attendance, payroll, performance and onboarding under one subscription, priced per employee per year. Its site states ₹1,428 per employee annually. If you want a free starting tier, Kredily offers one; for mid-sized firms wanting AI agents and a wide module set, see Zimyo.

What sumHR actually is

sumHR is an HRMS platform with these modules on its site: HRIS (employee profiles, org chart, directory), payroll and expense claims, attendance and time-off, performance management and OKRs, HR operations (letters, document storage, asset management), onboarding and exit, and helpdesks. Recruitment is marked "coming soon". The site does not state a target company size and does not give a customer count, so we will not guess either.

Its pricing is unusually plain. sumHR's site states ₹1,428 per employee annually, with a "pay as you go, use as you need" model (checked October 2026). For a 40-person firm, that is a quick multiplication you can do yourself, and you should confirm what the figure includes before signing.

Workflows it takes off your plate

Attendance. sumHR lists biometric, GPS and web clock-in, plus shift planning and leave policy management. For a business with a mix of office and field staff, that avoids running one tool for the office and another for the road.

Payroll. The site lists automated payroll with unlimited salary structures. That is useful when you have a founder, staff on fixed pay, sales people with variable pay and a few consultants. sumHR's website does not detail statutory filings (PF, ESI, PT, TDS), so ask for these to be demonstrated for your state.

HR paperwork. HR letter templates, document storage and an IT asset inventory mean offer letters, appointment letters and laptop issue records sit with the employee record.

Reviews. 360-degree performance reviews and OKRs let you run an appraisal cycle without a spreadsheet.

Access. Single sign-on, plus mobile and web access.

An illustrative example (not a customer story)

Imagine a 45-person Pune design-and-print firm: 30 office staff, 10 on the shop floor in two shifts, and 5 field executives. Today HR keeps a leave sheet, a biometric export for the shop floor, a WhatsApp group for field check-ins and a salary workbook. Month-end takes several days because the four sources never agree.

In a single HRMS, the biometric punches, GPS check-ins and leave requests all sit on one employee record. Salary is calculated from that record. The owner reviews one payroll summary instead of four files. This is the kind of consolidation sumHR's module list is designed for. Whether it hits that mark for you is exactly what your parallel run should test.

Month-end checklist once you are live

  1. Lock attendance and approve pending regularisations.
  2. Review leave without pay and unpaid absences.
  3. Add one-time items: bonuses, incentives, advances, expense claims.
  4. Review the payroll variance against last month; investigate anything above a threshold you choose.
  5. Release payslips and archive the register.

Where growth comes from

sumHR does not publish outcome statistics we can quote. What a tool like this changes is the cost of adding one more employee. Each hire should need no extra spreadsheet row, no separate leave tracker, and no extra payroll effort. When a 25-person agency becomes a 60-person agency, HR workload should rise slowly, not triple. That is the practical growth case.

sumHR vs two alternatives

sumHRKredilyZimyo
Pricing on the vendor site₹1,428 per employee annuallyFree Forever ₹0; Payroll OS ₹1,249/mo (up to 25 employees); Professional ₹1,749/mo; Enterprise customNot published
Stated customersNot stated25,000+ companies (Kredily says)2,500+ customers (Zimyo says)
Attendance modesBiometric, GPS, web7 modes incl. selfie, geo-fence, KredEYE face recognitionTime and attendance listed
Statutory payrollAsk for a demoPF, ESI, PT, TDS; Form 16 and 24QStatutory compliance listed
AINot listedKai co-pilot, Payroll AgentZim AI and Payroll, Helpdesk, Onboarding agents

Kredily's pricing is per its pricing section (checked October 2026); the Free Forever tier is stated as unlimited employees with core HR, payroll, attendance and leave. Check that page for the current limits. Zimyo states "Mid-sized companies" as its target and "60+ Modules"; the vendor's website had no prices.

30-day rollout for a 30-100 person company

  1. Week 1. Load employees, departments and reporting lines. Decide your leave types and holiday list.
  2. Week 2. Turn on attendance for one team. Compare its numbers with your register for a few days.
  3. Week 3. Set salary structures, run payroll in parallel with your current method, and reconcile each payslip.
  4. Week 4. Move all staff onto self-service and cut over. Keep the old sheet for one more month, read-only.

If any step slips, slip the cut-over, not the parallel run.

Per-employee pricing versus plan pricing

The two pricing models behave differently as you grow. A per-employee annual price, like sumHR's ₹1,428, scales smoothly: ten more hires add ten times the unit price. A plan-based model, like Kredily's published tiers, can be cheaper at small headcount (especially with a free tier) but steps up when you need features in a higher plan. Before choosing, model your headcount for the next two years, including seasonal staff, and check how each vendor counts an employee who leaves mid-year. Also ask whether implementation, biometric integration and training are bundled or billed separately; those line items can outweigh the subscription difference in year one.

Data and security questions to ask

HR data includes bank accounts, PAN and Aadhaar-linked records, so ask where the data is hosted, who can export it, how role-based access works, and whether there is an audit log of changes to salary fields. sumHR's website did not detail certifications, so request its security documentation. Zimyo's homepage mentions VAPT, ISO, AICPA SOC, GDPR and HIPAA compliance; ask for the certificates rather than relying on a homepage mention.

When another tool fits better

  • You want recruitment now. sumHR lists it as coming soon.
  • You want a free plan to test with. Start with Kredily and its payroll and attendance products.
  • You are mid-sized and want AI agents and a broad module set. Look at Zimyo.
  • You only need payroll. See sumHR Payroll as a standalone listing, or the payroll software category.

For a wider view, read the list of HRMS software in India and the factoHR, Pocket HRMS, Kredily pricing comparison.

What to check before buying

  • What the ₹1,428 covers: all modules, or only some?
  • Whether payroll includes statutory returns and challans, or only calculations.
  • Whether the biometric device you own works with it.
  • How you export your data if you leave.
  • Support hours; sumHR's site lists a phone number and a demo-booking link.

Putting sumHR on a shortlist

A fair shortlist has three tools, not ten. Choose one that matches your price model (sumHR for per-employee annual pricing), one with a free tier to test (Kredily), and one aimed at a larger company you might become (Zimyo). Give each the same test: your real salary structure, one month of attendance data and a leave policy with a tricky rule. Score them on accuracy, time taken and how comfortable your managers feel with it, then check references. See more on the compare page or ask for help at the advisor.

FAQs

How much does sumHR cost?

sumHR's site states ₹1,428 per employee annually (checked October 2026). Confirm in writing which modules that includes.

Is sumHR free?

Its site does not list a free plan. Kredily states a Free Forever plan if you want to start at ₹0.

Does sumHR support biometric attendance?

Yes. Its site lists biometric, GPS and web-based clock-in.

Does sumHR include recruitment?

Not yet; its site marks recruitment as "coming soon".

Is sumHR better than Kredily?

It depends on needs. Kredily publishes a free tier and monthly plans, and states 25,000+ companies; sumHR publishes a per-employee annual price. Run a one-month parallel test of each.

Does sumHR have a mobile app?

Its site lists mobile and web access. Check in the demo which actions (punching, leave approval, payslips) work on the phone.

Can a company of 20 employees use sumHR?

Its site does not state a minimum size. At ₹1,428 per employee annually, 20 employees would be priced from that figure, but confirm the actual quote, any minimum billing and what is included.


Next step: get a free matched shortlist, or compare more in HRMS software.

Sources cited

  1. sumHR
  2. Kredily
  3. Zimyo

Found this useful? Share it with your team.

Get a free payroll software shortlist

▾

Free for buyers · no spam. We use your details to handle this request and share them only with the vendors you ask about. Privacy policy · Your rights

Software mentioned in this blog

All payroll software

Explore these categories

Related blogs

Get an instant demo

Let us arrange your demos, free

  • Verified vendors
  • Real feedback before purchase
  • Free trials
  • Special discounts