Quick answer: Start with Microsoft Clarity, which its page calls "free forever" with "no limits on traffic", and watch real mobile sessions of your checkout before buying anything. If you then need funnels, form analytics or testing, compare Mouseflow (free plan, 500 sessions), Lucky Orange ($32 a month), Crazy Egg ($29 a month) and Zoho PageSense (free for 5,000 tracked users). FullStory and VWO quote paid tiers. Mask forms before you record anything.
How we researched this: We read the pricing or product pages of Microsoft Clarity, Contentsquare (where Hotjar's pricing link now lands), Mouseflow, Lucky Orange, Crazy Egg, FullStory, Zoho PageSense, VWO's parent Wingify and Insider One, Microsoft's masking and consent documentation, and the Government of India's DPDP Rules press release. Everything is as published in October 2026.
What each tool type answers
Heatmaps, recordings and funnels are the first layer of any conversion rate optimization CRO SaaS stack. They sound alike but answer different questions, and mixing them up leads to buying the wrong tier.
- Heatmaps aggregate clicks, taps and scrolls on one page. Use them to see whether visitors reach your price, your delivery promise or your WhatsApp button. Wingify's page puts it plainly: "See where users click, tap, and scroll."
- Session recordings replay one visitor's journey. They reveal rage clicks, dead links and navigation loops (Wingify's wording), which no average can show.
- Form analytics show which field makes people hesitate or refill. Wingify promises to "find the specific field that makes visitors hesitate or refill".
- Funnels count how many people reach each step, such as product, cart, address and payment. They tell you where, not why. Recordings tell you why.
- Surveys ask visitors directly. Hotjar Surveys and similar tools belong here; see our customer feedback category.
A fair rule for Indian SMB sites: install a free heat map and session recording tool first, watch 30 sessions of your checkout, and fix what you see before you spend on an experimentation platform.
Plans, limits and prices side by side
Prices are per each vendor's pages (checked October 2026). Most use a dollar sign without naming a currency.
| Tool | Price shown | What the entry tier limits |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Clarity | Free forever | "No limits on traffic"; page does not state limits on projects or data retention |
| Zoho PageSense | Forever Free; Professional and Enterprise tiered (INR selectable; check the live page for amounts) | Free: 5,000 monthly tracked users, heatmaps included; 15-day trial; A/B and split URL testing listed under Enterprise |
| Contentsquare (Hotjar link) | Free $0; Growth $49 ($39 on yearly billing); Pro and Enterprise custom | Free: up to 200k monthly sessions, 1 month of data, 1 project, replays on 5% of sessions (max 10k), no zone-based heatmaps. Growth: 7k to 240k sessions, zone-based heatmaps, 3 projects, 13 months of data |
| Mouseflow | Free 0; Essential 25; Advanced 109; Premium 319 (monthly, no currency symbol) | 500, 5,000, 25,000 and 100,000 sessions; 1, 1, 5 and 10 funnels; retention 1, 3, 6 and 12 months |
| Lucky Orange | Build $32; Grow $72; Expand $199; Scale $839 (billed annually) | 3,500, 10,000, 50,000 and 300,000 sessions to start; every feature on every plan; 7-day trial |
| Crazy Egg | Starter $29; Plus $99; Pro $249; Enterprise $599 (billed annually) | Tracked pageviews 5,000, 150,000, 500,000, 1,000,000; recordings 50, 1,000, 5,000, 10,000; A/B testing from Plus |
| FullStory | FullstoryFree; paid plans by request | Free: 30,000 sessions a month, 12 months of retention, up to 10 users |
| VWO | By demo | Bills "by the number of users you track, not sessions"; free for 30 days, no card |
Three points on that table.
Hotjar's pricing link now lands on Contentsquare. Visiting Hotjar's pricing URL redirects to Contentsquare's pricing page, so the plans in the row above are Contentsquare's Experience Analytics plans. Check the live Hotjar page for its own plan names. Both Hotjar and Contentsquare are listed on App Advisor.
Free is not the same as complete. Contentsquare's free plan records only 5% of sessions and leaves out zone-based heatmaps. Mouseflow's free plan keeps data for one month. FullStory's free plan stops at 30,000 sessions. Microsoft Clarity does not state caps on its page, but read its terms for fair-use rules.
Unit definitions differ. Mouseflow, Lucky Orange and Contentsquare count sessions. Crazy Egg counts tracked pageviews. PageSense counts monthly tracked users. VWO counts tracked users. Comparing headline prices without converting units is a frequent trap.
Turning your traffic into each tool's unit
Take a Shopify store with 120,000 sessions a month, an assumed 3 pages per session and 40,000 unique visitors.
- Contentsquare Free covers the sessions (up to 200k) but captures only 5% for replay, so about 6,000 recordings, below its 10k maximum.
- Mouseflow needs Enterprise, because Premium stops at 100,000 sessions.
- Lucky Orange falls between Expand (starts at 50,000) and Scale (starts at 300,000); the page does not show the price at 120,000, so ask for a quote.
- Crazy Egg sees 120,000 ร 3 = 360,000 pageviews, beyond Plus's 150,000 and within Pro's 500,000, at $249 a month on annual billing, with 5,000 recordings.
- PageSense Free covers 5,000 tracked users and so would not cover 40,000 visitors; check what the paid tiers cost for that count.
- Clarity lists no traffic limit.
The lesson: before you shortlist, write down sessions, pageviews and unique visitors from your analytics. See also our guide to SEO tools in India.
Privacy, masking and DPDP: set this up first
Any user behavior analytics software web teams install records what visitors type and tap, which means personal data. Three safeguards apply whichever vendor you pick.
Masking by default. Microsoft's documentation says Clarity masks sensitive content by default and never uploads masked content. Its default mode is Balanced, which masks numbers and email addresses. Strict masks all content, and Relaxed masks none except input boxes and drop-downs, which are masked in every mode. Masking changes apply only to new recordings, not retroactively. Elements can be masked with a data-clarity-mask attribute. Wingify says on its personalization page that PII is masked by default and targeting uses first-party behaviour only. For checkout pages, OTP screens and KYC forms, use Strict.
Consent. Microsoft's docs say Clarity began enforcing consent signals for visits from the EEA, UK and Switzerland on 31 October 2025. If you have visitors from those regions, a banner that sends a consent signal matters. For Indian visitors, the relevant law is the Digital Personal Data Protection Rules, 2025. According to the PIB press release of 14 November 2025, they carry an 18-month phased compliance timeline and require standalone consent notices explaining the specific purpose of collection. Add a plain line to your privacy notice and cookie banner: you record anonymised sessions to improve the site.
Retention and access. Decide who can watch recordings, how long they stay (Mouseflow's plans keep data from one to twelve months; Contentsquare's free plan keeps one month) and how a customer's erasure request will be handled. Our DPDP Act compliance software guide explains the wider programme.
Website personalization: when it makes sense
Website personalization software SaaS shows different content to different visitors. The vendors in this field present it as the next step after analysis.
- Wingify (VWO) describes personalization built on first-party behaviour with no third-party cookies, an audience manager showing each audience's traffic share and revenue at stake, and a free 30-day trial. It claims personalized experiences drive "up to +5-10% average revenue increase on targeted audiences", a vendor claim we cannot verify.
- Insider One pairs a unified customer profile with AI, lists nine channels including web, WhatsApp and web push, and says it is trusted by 2,000+ customers. It publishes no prices.
- Optimizely is another personalization vendor listed on App Advisor; ask it for the same details.
Personalization needs volume and clean data. A site with a few thousand visits a month cannot support more than one or two audiences. Our note on customer data platforms in India covers the profile layer that personalization depends on, and web push can bring visitors back.
Three Indian scenarios worked through
A Jaipur jewellery store on Shopify, 120,000 sessions a month. Install Clarity first and watch 30 mobile sessions from Meta ad traffic. If recordings show shoppers abandoning at the pincode check, fix that. If you later want funnels, Crazy Egg Pro at $249 a month on annual billing and Mouseflow Enterprise are the two to quote. For the store side, compare Shopify and WooCommerce costs, and use recordings to study COD refusals alongside RTO tactics.
A Bengaluru SaaS startup with 4,000 trial sign-ups a month. Form analytics on the sign-up page matters more than heatmaps. Mouseflow Essential (25, 5,000 sessions, 1 funnel) may be tight at that volume, while PageSense Free covers 5,000 tracked users. VWO's pricing by users tracked suits a product with a small, high-value audience, but it is by demo.
A Pune NBFC with an online loan application. Compliance dominates. Mask every field, exclude PAN and OTP pages, and set a short retention. FullStory's free plan allows up to 10 users and 12 months of retention, which may be longer than you want; ask whether it can be shortened. Get legal sign-off before recording anything on an application flow.
Who should skip which tool
- Skip Mouseflow's free plan for any real traffic: 500 sessions a month is a sample, not a view.
- Skip Crazy Egg Starter if you need recordings; 50 a month is thin.
- Skip FullStory and Contentsquare's higher tiers until you have a research owner; their paid tiers are quoted individually.
- Skip personalization if you cannot yet run a clean A/B test; fix navigation first.
- Skip recording entirely on pages that collect health, financial or children's data until your consent and masking are reviewed.
A four-week routine that produces changes
- Week 1: Install the tag on your site, set masking to Balanced or Strict, and update your privacy notice. Check a sample recording to confirm that inputs are masked.
- Week 2: Watch 30 mobile sessions of your highest-value journey. Write down every moment of confusion. Do not fix anything yet.
- Week 3: Fix the top three problems, such as a hidden button, a slow form field or a confusing shipping line, and mark the date in your analytics.
- Week 4: Compare completion rate before and after. If a page still leaks visitors, test one change at a time. Landing page builders with built-in A/B testing can speed this up.
See also our comparison of mobile app analytics tools if your journey crosses into an app, and Google review tools for the trust signals that sit beside your page.
FAQs
Is Microsoft Clarity really free?
Its homepage says "Free forever" and "No limits on traffic". It offers heatmaps, session recordings and AI summaries. Read the terms and masking settings before installing, and note that its page makes no statement about data retention.
What is the difference between a heatmap and a session recording?
A heatmap aggregates clicks and scrolls on one page across many visitors. A session recording replays a single visitor's journey. Use the heatmap to find where, and the recording to find why.
Which heatmap tool has a free plan?
Microsoft Clarity, Zoho PageSense (5,000 monthly tracked users), Mouseflow (500 sessions), Contentsquare (up to 200k sessions with 5% replay capture) and FullStory (30,000 sessions) all list free plans. Their limits differ, so compare units.
Do session recordings need consent in India?
The DPDP Rules require standalone, purpose-specific consent notices for personal data collection, according to the PIB release. Whether anonymised recordings need explicit consent depends on what is captured. Mask inputs, add a notice and take legal advice for sensitive sectors.
How much does Crazy Egg cost?
Crazy Egg lists Starter at $29 a month, Plus at $99, Pro at $249 and Enterprise at $599, all billed annually, with tracked pageviews of 5,000, 150,000, 500,000 and 1,000,000 respectively.
Do I need personalization software?
Only if you have enough traffic to test more than one audience and a way to measure revenue per visitor. Start with recordings and fixes; consider VWO or Insider after that.
Next step: get a free matched shortlist, or compare more in web analytics software.









