Most Indian restaurants in 2026 need two connected systems: a point-of-sale (POS) that runs billing, kitchen tickets, inventory and GST, and an online-ordering layer that pulls orders from Zomato, Swiggy and the restaurant's own website into that POS so nobody re-types them. For a single outlet, a restaurant POS with native aggregator integration (Petpooja, Posist/Restroworks, Slick POS and similar) is usually enough. Chains that sell through several aggregators, their own app and ONDC-style channels typically add a dedicated order-orchestration layer such as UrbanPiper. The aggregator commission you pay to Zomato or Swiggy is a separate, negotiated cost and is often larger than the software bill, so model it before you compare subscription prices.
Executive summary
- POS and aggregators do different jobs. The POS is your system of record for bills, stock and tax. Zomato and Swiggy are demand channels with their own partner dashboards. Integration only removes the re-keying between them.
- Published software prices are rare. Among the vendors we checked, Petpooja publishes indicative plan prices (from ₹12,000 excluding taxes for its Base plan). UrbanPiper, Restroworks and the aggregators do not publish a rate card on the pages we could access.
- Compliance moved in 2026. FSSAI raised the basic-registration turnover ceiling from ₹12 lakh to ₹1.5 crore, and the State-licence ceiling to ₹50 crore, from 1 April 2026. Your POS turnover reports now decide which tier you fall into.
- Aggregator commission dominates total cost. In our illustrative model, commission on delivery orders exceeds POS and integration software cost many times over. Menu engineering and a direct-ordering channel matter more than a cheaper POS.
- Implementation is mostly menu and recipe data. A clean item master, modifiers, recipes and tax mapping decide whether reports can be trusted. Budget three to six weeks for a single outlet.
App Advisor is not affiliated with Zomato, Swiggy, UrbanPiper or any vendor named here, and receives no commission from them.
Market context
India's organised restaurant sector sells through three channels at once: dine-in, takeaway and aggregator delivery. The scale of aggregator delivery is visible in company disclosures. Swiggy's corporate press release states that Swiggy Food "collaborates with over 2.7 lakh restaurants across 720+ cities" (Swiggy press release). For a restaurant owner, that means aggregator orders usually arrive on a separate tablet, with their own menu, prices, item availability and settlement report, unless the POS is integrated.
Regulation shapes the software requirement as much as demand does. The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) announced that "with effect from 1st April, 2026, the turnover threshold for registration has been increased from 12 lakhs to 1.5 crore, and for State licensing up to 50 crores, with Central licensing applicable beyond this limit" (FSSAI press release, 13 March 2026). Applications and renewals run through FSSAI's FoSCoS portal (FoSCoS). The practical effect for software buyers: the turnover your POS reports, across dine-in and every aggregator, is the number that decides whether you need basic registration, a State licence or a Central licence. A POS that cannot consolidate channel revenue makes that call harder.
Aggregator partner programmes are run through dedicated partner apps and dashboards (Zomato's restaurant partner app and Swiggy's partner app). Neither aggregator published a commission rate card on the pages we could access. Commission terms are set in each restaurant's partner agreement. Treat any percentage you read in forums as a negotiation starting point, not a fact.
Three structural shifts matter for 2026 buying decisions:
- Multi-brand kitchens. Cloud kitchens often run several virtual brands from one kitchen. That needs a POS that maps many storefront menus to one recipe and inventory master.
- Direct ordering. Restaurants want their own web or WhatsApp ordering to reduce commission exposure. That requires a menu and payment layer that the aggregators do not provide.
- Data ownership. Aggregator dashboards show orders but restrict customer contact data. A direct channel plus a CRM or loyalty module is the only way to build a first-party customer list.
Evaluation framework
App Advisor methodology: we score restaurant POS and ordering platforms against weighted criteria built from buyer interviews, vendor documentation and implementation experience. Weights reflect a typical 1–10 outlet Indian restaurant business. Chains should raise the weight of integration and multi-outlet controls.
| Criterion | Weight | What good looks like |
|---|---|---|
| Aggregator integration depth | 20% | Orders, menu, item on/off, store open/close and prices sync both ways with Zomato and Swiggy; no manual re-entry |
| Billing, KOT and GST accuracy | 15% | Fast billing, kitchen order tickets, correct GST on dine-in vs delivery, e-invoicing if applicable |
| Inventory and recipe costing | 15% | Recipe-level consumption, wastage, purchase orders, variance reports |
| Multi-outlet and multi-brand control | 10% | Central menu, outlet-level price overrides, virtual brands on one kitchen |
| Direct ordering and payments | 10% | Own website/QR ordering, UPI and card acceptance, delivery partner options |
| Reporting and reconciliation | 10% | Channel-wise sales, aggregator settlement reconciliation, day-end reports |
| Offline resilience and hardware | 10% | Keeps billing when internet drops; supports common printers and tablets |
| Pricing transparency and lock-in | 5% | Published or clearly quoted prices; data export; reasonable contract terms |
| Support and implementation | 5% | Local onboarding, menu setup help, response times |
Vendor comparison
Prices below are exactly as published on the vendor page cited. Where a vendor did not publish a price, we say so. We have not converted currencies.
| Product | Type | Published price | Aggregator integration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Petpooja | Restaurant POS | Base: ₹12,000 (ex tax). Operations Manager: Growth ₹20,000, Scale ₹30,000. Marketing Manager: Core ₹20,000, Growth ₹30,000, Scale ₹40,000. All "exclusive of applicable taxes"; billing period not stated on the page; "indicative and subject to change" | Yes (Zomato, Swiggy) | petpooja.com/pricing |
| UrbanPiper | Order orchestration and aggregator integration | Not published on the page we could access (Quote) | Core function | urbanpiper.com |
| Restroworks (Posist) | Enterprise restaurant POS | Quote | Yes | restroworks.com |
| Slick POS for restaurants | Cloud POS | Not published on the page we could access | Check with vendor | slickpos.com |
| Zomato restaurant partner | Aggregator marketplace | Commission: Not published on the page we could access; set in partner agreement | N/A (channel) | zomato.com |
| Swiggy partner | Aggregator marketplace | Commission: Not published on the page we could access; set in partner agreement | N/A (channel) | partner.swiggy.com |
How to read the table:
- Petpooja is the only product here with a public price list. Confirm the billing period (monthly or annual) and hardware costs in writing, because the page does not state them.
- UrbanPiper sits between your POS and many channels. It makes sense when you run many brands or outlets, or want one menu pushed to several aggregators and a branded app. A single outlet with one POS integration may not need it.
- Restroworks is aimed at larger chains that need central kitchens, franchise controls and enterprise reporting.
- Aggregators are demand channels, not software you buy. Read the partner agreement for commission, payment-gateway charges, packaging and GST treatment, settlement cycle and penalty clauses.
For a wider shortlist, browse restaurant software and general POS software. Consumer-side apps are listed under food delivery apps.
Total cost of ownership
Illustrative model — assumptions stated. These are not vendor quotes. They show how cost components compare. Replace every input with your own quotes and agreements.
Assumptions for one urban outlet:
- Monthly delivery gross merchandise value (GMV) through aggregators: ₹6,00,000.
- Aggregator commission: a placeholder of X% of order value, because the aggregators do not publish rates. We show the cost at 15%, 20% and 25% only to illustrate sensitivity. These are not published rates.
- POS software: Petpooja Base at ₹12,000 excluding taxes. We treat it as an annual cost for modelling. Confirm the period with the vendor.
- Integration or orchestration layer: ₹0 if native POS integration is enough, or a quoted amount Q if you add UrbanPiper-style middleware.
- Hardware (billing terminal, KOT printer, cash drawer): one-time H, amortised over three years.
- Staff time saved: 2 hours/day of manual order re-entry at ₹150/hour, equal to about ₹9,000/month.
| Cost line (annual) | Scenario A: 15% | Scenario B: 20% | Scenario C: 25% |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aggregator commission on ₹72,00,000 annual delivery GMV | ₹10,80,000 | ₹14,40,000 | ₹18,00,000 |
| POS software (assumed annual) | ₹12,000 + GST | ₹12,000 + GST | ₹12,000 + GST |
| Middleware (if used) | Q | Q | Q |
| Hardware amortised | H ÷ 3 | H ÷ 3 | H ÷ 3 |
| Labour saved by integration | −₹1,08,000 | −₹1,08,000 | −₹1,08,000 |
What the model shows:
- Commission is the largest line in every scenario. Moving even 10% of delivery orders to a direct channel at a lower cost usually saves more than switching POS vendors.
- Integration pays for itself through labour and errors. Re-keyed orders cause wrong items, missed modifiers and stock mismatches, costs that never appear on an invoice.
- Middleware is a scale decision. Add an orchestration layer when channel count or brand count, not outlet ambition, makes native integration unmanageable.
Implementation roadmap
| Phase | Weeks | Activities | Exit criteria |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1. Discovery | 1 | List channels, brands, outlets; collect aggregator agreements; decide GST treatment; confirm FSSAI tier | Signed scope and channel map |
| 2. Master data | 1–2 | Build item master, modifiers, combos, recipes, units, tax codes; photograph menu | Menu approved by chef and accounts |
| 3. Hardware and POS setup | 2–3 | Install terminals, printers, KOT routing; configure users and roles | Test bills print correctly per station |
| 4. Aggregator integration | 3–4 | Link Zomato and Swiggy stores; map items; test item on/off and store timings | 20 test orders flow without re-entry |
| 5. Inventory go-live | 4–5 | Opening stock count; purchase and wastage workflows; variance reports | First weekly variance report reviewed |
| 6. Direct ordering and CRM | 5–6 | QR/web ordering, payment gateway, loyalty or WhatsApp campaigns | First direct orders settled |
| 7. Stabilise | 6+ | Daily reconciliation of aggregator settlements; staff retraining | Two clean month-end closes |
Risks and compliance checklist
- FSSAI tier: check consolidated turnover against the revised thresholds effective 1 April 2026 and renew or upgrade through FoSCoS.
- GST configuration: confirm with your tax adviser how GST applies to dine-in bills versus aggregator orders, where e-commerce operators may collect and pay tax on certain supplies. Map tax codes per channel.
- Menu and price parity: make sure aggregator agreements do not conflict with the prices you set on your own channel.
- Data protection: customer phone numbers and addresses captured in direct ordering are personal data under the Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023. Collect consent and restrict staff access.
- Settlement reconciliation: aggregator payouts net off commissions, discounts, penalties and taxes. Reconcile weekly against POS channel reports.
- Offline mode: test a full dinner rush with the internet unplugged before go-live.
- Vendor lock-in: confirm you can export item master, sales and customer data in CSV or Excel.
- Hardware warranty and support hours: make sure support covers late-night operating hours.
KPIs to track
| KPI | Definition | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Channel mix | % of net sales from dine-in, takeaway, each aggregator, direct | Shows commission exposure |
| Effective commission rate | Total aggregator deductions ÷ aggregator GMV | The true cost, including penalties and ad spend |
| Food cost % | Theoretical recipe cost ÷ net sales | Menu profitability |
| Inventory variance | Actual consumption − theoretical consumption | Detects wastage and pilferage |
| Order accuracy | Orders without complaint ÷ total orders | Integration and KOT quality |
| Kitchen ticket time | Time from order acceptance to food ready | Delivery ratings and table turns |
| Aggregator rejection/cancellation rate | Cancelled or rejected orders ÷ orders received | Affects ranking on the platform |
| Direct-order repeat rate | Customers ordering directly 2+ times in 60 days | Value of first-party channel |
How to choose
- Single outlet, mostly dine-in: choose a POS with strong billing, KOT and inventory. Aggregator integration is a nice-to-have.
- Delivery-heavy outlet or cloud kitchen: make two-way Zomato and Swiggy integration a hard requirement, including item on/off sync. Test it live in the demo.
- Multi-brand cloud kitchen: prioritise one recipe master feeding many storefront menus. Evaluate whether an orchestration layer such as UrbanPiper is needed.
- Chain of 10+ outlets: shortlist enterprise POS such as Restroworks and ask for central kitchen, franchise and approval workflows.
- Always: get written quotes covering subscription period, hardware, integration fees, payment-gateway charges and exit terms. Compare these against your aggregator commission, not just against each other.
Related reading: GST invoicing software compared, WhatsApp automation for ecommerce for direct-order campaigns, and payment gateway charges compared.
Vendor demo script
A 45-minute demo can hide weaknesses that only show up during a Saturday dinner rush. Use this script with every shortlisted vendor, on your own menu, and score each step pass or fail.
Step 1: Menu build (10 minutes). Give the vendor ten real items, including one combo, one item with mandatory modifiers (spice level, add-ons), one item sold at a different price on delivery than dine-in, and one item that exists only on a virtual brand. Ask them to configure it live. Watch how many screens it takes and whether the recipe for each item can be linked to raw-material consumption.
Step 2: Aggregator order flow (10 minutes). Ask the vendor to show a live or sandbox Zomato or Swiggy order arriving in the POS. Then ask for three edge cases:
- The customer cancels after the kitchen has started preparing.
- An item goes out of stock mid-service. Does switching it off in the POS switch it off on every aggregator, and how quickly?
- The outlet closes early because of a power cut. How is the store taken offline on all channels?
Step 3: Billing and tax (5 minutes). Create a dine-in bill with a service charge, a discount and a split payment across UPI and cash. Print the KOT and the bill. Check that the GST breakdown on the printout matches what your accountant expects, and that the bill reprint is logged.
Step 4: Inventory and variance (10 minutes). Ask the vendor to record a purchase, a wastage entry and a closing stock count, then show the variance report for one ingredient. If the report cannot explain the difference between theoretical and actual consumption, inventory will never be trusted.
Step 5: Reconciliation (5 minutes). Ask how aggregator settlement reports are matched against POS sales, and what happens to disputed deductions. Many restaurants lose money here without noticing.
Step 6: Commercials (5 minutes). Ask for a written quote covering subscription period, per-outlet fees, integration charges per aggregator, hardware, onboarding, annual escalation, and data export on exit.
Questions to ask aggregator partner managers
Aggregators are not software vendors, but the partner conversation deserves the same discipline:
- What is the full deduction schedule: commission, payment-gateway fee, advertising and any penalties?
- What is the settlement cycle, and how are refunds for customer complaints charged back?
- Which menu, price and packaging rules apply to my category and city?
- What data about my customers will I receive, and in what format?
- What notice period applies if terms change?
Keep the answers in writing next to your POS quotes. The decision is about total margin per order, not software alone.
FAQs
What is the difference between restaurant POS and online ordering software?
A restaurant POS handles in-store billing, kitchen tickets, inventory and tax reports. Online ordering software lets customers place orders on the web, an app or aggregators, and pushes those orders into the POS. Many POS products now include basic online ordering. Dedicated platforms such as UrbanPiper focus on managing many channels.
Does Petpooja integrate with Zomato and Swiggy?
Petpooja lists aggregator integration among its features. Always test live order flow, item availability sync and cancellation handling in a demo on your own menu before signing.
How much commission do Zomato and Swiggy charge restaurants?
Neither Zomato nor Swiggy published a commission rate card on the pages we could access. Commission is set in the partner agreement and can vary by city, restaurant and services chosen. Ask for the full deduction schedule, including payment-gateway fees and advertising, before onboarding.
What does Petpooja cost?
Petpooja's pricing page lists a Base plan at ₹12,000 (ex tax), Operations Manager plans at ₹20,000 and ₹30,000, and Marketing Manager plans at ₹20,000, ₹30,000 and ₹40,000, all exclusive of taxes. The page says plans are indicative and does not state the billing period, so confirm it in your quote.
Do I need an FSSAI licence or just registration for my restaurant?
From 1 April 2026, FSSAI raised the basic-registration turnover limit to ₹1.5 crore and the State-licence limit to ₹50 crore, with a Central licence above that. Use your consolidated turnover across all channels, and confirm your category on the FoSCoS portal.
Is UrbanPiper a POS?
UrbanPiper positions itself as an order management and integration platform that connects aggregators and direct channels to restaurant POS systems. Most restaurants use it alongside a POS rather than instead of one.
Can I run multiple cloud-kitchen brands on one POS?
Yes, if the POS supports multiple storefront menus mapped to a shared recipe and inventory master. Ask vendors to demonstrate one kitchen serving two virtual brands on two aggregators.
How long does restaurant POS implementation take?
A single outlet with a clean menu can go live in about three to six weeks, including aggregator mapping and inventory. Chains take longer because of central menu governance and outlet rollouts.








